Book Review: ‘Bastard’ by J L Perry

fff5c-bastard2bamazon2bcover

Title: Bastard

Published: 13th September 2015

Author: J L Perry

Facebook: www.facebook.com/J-L-Perry-Author

Twitter: @jlperryauthor

Synopsis:

**FULL LENGTH STANDALONE READ**

**You can watch the book trailer for Bastard on my Amazon Author’s page, by clicking on my Author’s name at the top of the page**

**Warning this book contains coarse language and sexual content and therefore is recommended for persons over the age of 18**

My name is Carter Reynolds. I was born a bastard and I’ll die a bastard. I learnt it at a young age, and nothing and nobody can change that. I’m on a one-way path of destruction, and God help anyone who gets in my way. I hate my life. Actually, I hate pretty much everything.

That’s until I meet the kid next door. Indi-freakin’-ana. My dislike for her is instant. From the moment I lay eyes on her, she ignites something within me. She makes me feel things I thought I was incapable of feeling. I don’t like it, not one bit. When she looks at me with her big, beautiful, haunting green eyes, it’s like she can see into the depths of my soul. It freaks me the hell out. She’s like sunshine and rainbows in my world of gloom and doom. I hate sunshine and rainbows.

•••

I’m Indiana Montgomery. My friends call me Indi. Despite losing my mum at the age of six, I have a wonderful life and great friends. My dad more than makes up for the fact that I only have one parent. I’m his little girl, the centre of his world. I adore him.

When Carter Reynolds moves in next door, my life takes a turn for the worse. He’s gorgeous, sinfully hot, but that’s where my compliments end. He seems hell-bent on making my life miserable. He acts tough, but when I look into his eyes I don’t see it. I see hurt and pain. To me, he seems lost.

I should hate him for the way he treats me, but surprisingly I don’t. If anything, I feel sorry for him. I want to help him find peace. Help him find the light that I know is buried somewhere within his darkness, but he won’t have a bar of it.

He’s warned me time and time again to stay away, but I can’t. I’m drawn to him for some reason. He’s always referring to himself as a bastard. That may be true, but to me, he’s more like a beautifully, misunderstood bastard. Whether he likes it or not, I refuse to give up on him.

Review:

I loved this story right from the start. It’s a book of two parts. Part one definitely lives up to its title for Carter but that’s more to do with an event that happened in his childhood. Part two he has grown up a lot in the years he’s spent away. Shame he can’t keep running from his mistakes as it could be his last chance to right them. Carter and Indiana both go through so much that you are just dying for them to get their happy ending.

The story starts with Carter who states that he was born a bastard, is a bastard and he will die a bastard. It can all be pin pointed to the moment that his mother took him to see his grandfather for the first time at the age of five. Lets just say it doesn’t go well and it’s the first time he hears the word bastard. Its not until he reads what it means that it changes him. From that point on he turns into a darker version of himself who treats everyone like trash, except for his mother, as that’s how he thinks they are going to treat him. Hurt others before they can hurt you and keep your walls up seem to be his mottos. Intriguing that the more he does this when he meets Indiana the more she can see straight through him. Their first introduction doesn’t go well, though that has a lot to do with the situation. His mother has married a complete tool who makes it very clear Carter is the unwanted baggage that comes with her. From the moment they move into his house Carter is counting down the days until he is eighteen so he can move out. Nothing will make him stay, even the temptress that’s got under his skin who lives next door. The only problem with this is that the more time they spend together the more he sees her as a kindred spirit who seems to understand him better than himself.

Indiana doesn’t get off to a great start with Carter. She pretty much thinks of him as an arsehole she’d liked to stay away from. Seems they keep bumping into each other though, well they are neighbours and going to the same school now. His mum then has the great idea that he should drive her to school, something she doesn’t have much of a say in when Carter has his way. Their love/hate relationship starts from this point onwards. Carter is constantly trying to put up barriers between him and others to prevent them from knowing the real him – even though at times he doesn’t even know who that is. No matter how hard she tries to not let him get to her he does anyway. She has a way of getting him to let his guard down and when he does she can’t help but fall for him. No matter what he says he can’t stay away and it just takes one kiss for both to see what might be. But he doesn’t do relationships and doesn’t want to have a reason to stick around so plans to stay away no matter what she asks of him. Umm yeah that doesn’t work out too well because she ends up giving him something special anyway but even her virginity can’t make him stay.

Skip forward five years and circumstances out of his control bring him home. Seems there was heartbreak on both sides but anger full front on hers when they are face to face again. Carter’s hands just weren’t quick enough, though really he should have seen it coming. Indiana it seems might have moved on and if Carter waits too long to right his wrong he will lose her forever.

Hot and heavy when they were younger but off the charts passion now they are older. Coming back together has its benefits but there’s always something around the corner that could cause trouble. I loved Indiana’s friend, she came up with some interesting ways for Indiana to try and get a reaction out of Carter when they were younger. Getting a guy to try and climb through her bedroom window being one of them – lets just say Carter is none too pleased and once the guy has been scared off Indiana and him have a very intense moment. Loved her dog Lassie, or as Carter liked to call him Larry, as he was what kept bringing them a bit more of a connection. Indiana’s dad was a good character aswell as he brought out a better side to Carter. He was the father he never had and always wanted. Great bit of writing and I couldn’t put it down. Will definitely have to check out what else the author has written.

bookbookbookbookbook

5 out of 5 stars

I received this ARC from Give Me Books for my honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading Nook Blog Posts, Romance

Leave a Reply

