Book Review: ‘The Basilisk’s Creed Volume Two’ by Eme Strife

the-basilisks-creed-vol-2

Title: The Basilisk’s Creed Volume Two (The Basilisk’s Creed Series)

Published: 22nd April 2014

Publisher: (Eme)nded Publishing

Author: Eme Strife

Facebook: www.facebook.com/emestrifeauthor

Twitter: @emestrife

Synopsis:

Dear diary…and anyone else who will listen:

Tonight, I met the man of my dreams.

Literally.

***

Whoever said living in California was glamorous and easy-going lied through their fucking teeth. I guess I can blame reality TV for that pervasive B.S. Maybe it was good thing my old man banned television at home for all the years he was alive, after all. I probably would’ve been even more deluded than I was when I’d moved up here from Arkansas three months ago.

Looking back, I’m not even sure why I did it; why, of all the places I could’ve chosen to start a new life, I picked Los Angeles: one of the most expensive places in the world to live. I don’t even know anyone one here. Heck, I’d never even visited the city before my move.

Still, I’m determined to make it here, to make something of myself. And that means I have no time for distractions of any kind—especially guys.

But then, he comes along; the sexiest, strongest, most handsome, most intimidating, and most powerful man I’ve ever seen.

He’s absolutely gorgeous, with eyes that seem to burn right through my soul and the most charming smile in existence, and his allure, his entire being, is simply magnetic.

He’s impossibly beautiful and just…ugh, perfect. He’s perfect. He’s everything every woman—and possibly quite a few men—wants, including me.

What I’m not prepared for, though, is how much he wants me, too.

However, there are three problems.

One: He’s not a man.

Two: I can only see him in my dreams.

And three: He commands an army of soul reapers.

And, apparently, that’s just the beginning…

***

Immerse yourself in the second thrilling installment of Eme Strife’s addictive, sexy, enchanting, and surreal series. Each page will leave you even more enthralled than the last, on the edge of your seat, and vigorously chomping at the bit for more.

This series unfolds over several volumes. IT IS NOT A STANDALONE.

Rated 18+

This series contains graphic sexual content, violence, and strong language. Because of its explicit nature, it is intended for mature audiences only. Reader discretion is advised.

This book was previously published as an older edition. This is the new one.

Review:

Goes down as another off my 2017 Bookworm Bingo Challenge – A book set in a different country. Well this book starts just as the last one left off with Eli being woken up by that dam alarm clock. She may be feeling a bit unsure about what may or may not have been happening in her dream but that didn’t mean she wanted to wake from it early. Especially when things were just starting to heat up.

Loved Eli’s back and forth questioning after she wakes up about what happened in her ‘dream’ and how she should feel about it. How she should and how she does are two different things. It’s like she is trying to talk herself out of her own bodies’ reaction to Matthiel. Her mind is saying ‘he’s a reaper, stay away’ but her body is saying ‘go back to sleep and find him!’ I know which one she really wants to listen to though even if she is a bit scared of it. A way to distract her mind from blue eyes that want to draw her back in is to keep busy and head to work – easier said than done. She works as a custodian at a high-end club called Rubies but even there strange things are happening around her and I’m getting the impression they will only continue. Nothing is by chance it seems.

So Matthiel is trying hard to figure out what just happened. He can’t decide if she was real or not with how quickly his kitty-cat vanished before his eyes. If that wasn’t enough to make him feel unsettled then the news he gets from three of his top Golden Reapers that appear shortly after sure will. Seems that they have been summoned to the Alchemoni – the realm of the highest Reaper order – to talk to the elders about a shift that has happened. It seems this shift has affected the balance of alchemy and power where lower level reapers are now able to posses the powers of higher golden ones. You can imagine that tensions would be high at a meeting like this and when a scribe is brought forward to pretty much give them a history lesson you can see their patience running thin. This scribe pretty much explains the order of how things are run and how the shift is going to mess everything up and break their sacred creed. The saying ‘if it ain’t broke don’t fix it’ comes to mind with the elders way of thinking. Time for a change is coming whether they like it or not, so they best be prepared for it.

Well now the ball has started rolling. Oh how I was dying for them to bump into each other. Everything happens for a reason and its up to Matthiel to figure out how it connects to Eli – his Kitty-Cat who he really wants to make purr. His realisation at the end is funny, like a ton of bricks has fallen on him when things click into place. Leads nicely into the next where fingers crossed they meet again. Only this time I want her awake, even if she was having fun while asleep. Might be another cliff-hanger but it makes you want to jump straight into the next.

bookbookbookbook

4 out of 5 stars

I received this ARC from the author for my honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal Romance, Reading Challenges, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

