Release Blitz and Book Review: ‘Extra Credit’ by Poppy Dunne

release day blitz

Book Title: Extra Credit
Author: Poppy Dunne
Genre: Romantic Comedy
Release Date: March 22, 2017
Hosted by: Book Enthusiast Promotions

Goodreads Button with Shadow

book blurb

The first time I saw Will Munroe I had him pegged as a typical LA douchebag—a little too handsome, a little too rich, a little too into his probiotic kale smoothies. The next time I ran into him—at his daughter’s parent/teacher conference (me: teacher, he: parent)—I noticed his steel grey eyes, his hard chest under a crisp white button down, and his suggestively bare ring finger. I was hooked.

If life really imitated art, he’d have swept me off my feet and taken me right there on the principal’s desk. Instead, we are stuck in our assigned roles. He’s the workaholic single dad of a precocious girl child, and I’m her fiery substitute teacher. Never the two shall meet. Enter one zany, yurt-dwelling ex-wife, a stock market that never sleeps, and some over-the-top, A-list fundraisers, and I’ve got plenty of drama ahead. Better to keep my hands to myself.

But when Will asks me out for a pancake breakfast, how can I resist? My heart (and my stomach) say yes, but am I willing to risk my job for a short stack and a romp in the hay? A slow, sensual, mind-blowing romp in the hay…

But where there’s a Will…

 

Review

Goes down as another off my 2017 Bookworm Bingo Challenge – A book that made you laugh out loud. Funny quirky characters that will have you in stitches right from the start with the type of humour they bring.

You know how some children wish to run away and live with the circus when they are young. Well Chelle wanted to go live accountants. You may think that’s a bit strange but it seems her normal life was a circus, quite literally with her parents being clowns and all. Loved them when they showed up, hilarious even though only in it for a small part. Growing up in that environment is probably why Chelle went into the theatre, specifically helping putting on children’s plays. She only wishes it would be something a bit more full time. She’s just moved to LA to start working as a substitute theatre studies teacher at Bay of Dreams School. Seriously this school is a little bonkers but in a great way. Very spiritual in its environment and how everyone interacts with each other. I love it when she talks about its quirks, mainly with what the kids’ names might be. Seriously Kale, who would you call their kid Kale? So she’s there for a few weeks (though she’s hoping it will turn into something longer) to put on a play, Oliver Twist. ‘Twist’ should definitely be in the title as they do alter the story a bit. I mean there’s a killer whale at the end of it – work that one out people! I seriously need to see how the play turned out because the description alone is enough to get you intrigued. But its not just the play that becomes a reason to stay, might have something to do with handsome stranger she first meets while walking her cute little dog Archie.

It’s a bit of an amusing first meet with Chelle and Will when they bump into each other on Runyon Canyon while walking their dogs. She might take notice of this handsome stranger to begin with but it’s the dogs that seem to like each other a bit too much. A bit of banter and then they are on their way thinking to never see each other again. He managed to stay on her mind though and it seems that luck (or maybe fate) has put his daughter Amelia in her class. After having to meet him for a spiritual intervention where finger painting is involved (yes really) you can see the underlying chemistry start to flow. But Chelle has been burned before in her past relationship with lies and half-truths so she’s not looking for anything here. Yeah well she can keep saying that to herself but we all know she would love to get a bit creative with him.

Seems Will’s on the same wavelength but has been out of the game for a while so doesn’t know how to play it. Shouldn’t worry too much as his daughter volunteers him to assist with the play. Now they are going to be spending a lot of time together, something they are both very pleased with. Love when he asks her out and just assumes she will know it’s a date by the place he says to meet at. When she turns up in very casual wear it’s like a rabbit caught in headlights moment where she then just wants to run. No running here though as he has no intention of letting her go. He gives her two options: they can either talk about the play prep work or she can put her notepad away and they can see where it leads. It leads to some very hot fun it you ask me but not as much as the day after. I’ll just say that she gets double the desserts when she’s with him. She is definitely a foodie with quite a sweet tooth, something that Will is intrigued by. No matter what he starts with Chelle he still has to try and deal with his hippy free spirited ex-wife Suzonne. When it’s mentioned she lives in a yurt with their daughter I had to look them up to see what they looked like. Have to admit some of the more extravagant ones look all right. Though I’m guessing Suzonne would have picked a very basic one due to wanting to become minimalist.

A hidden romance is very enticing but having one could cause a lot of trouble if it ends badly. Chelle longs to settle in one place with a full time career so doesn’t need to be found out in the middle a scandal. Chemistry is believable and not over the top. They are opposites in some ways but then match made in heaven in others. Will is clearly a devoted father who respects his ex – even if she’s a bit of a hippy – and wants Chelle with a passion the longer he is with her. Chelle is a free spirit herself, just not as far gone as the other schools teachers, loves her family no matter what they do and is loyal to a fault. Passion from the start so lets hope it doesn’t fizzle out by opening night.

4 out of 5 stars

I received this ARC from the author for my honest review.

excerpt

I’m asking for a tissue when he sweeps me up into his arms and kisses me. His mouth covers mine, nothing tentative about it. It’s a masterful kiss, him claiming my mouth over and over again. My arms twine around his neck, when what I should be doing is pushing him away with a Scarlett O’Hara “I do dee-clayah! Mr. Munroe!” But I don’t. Instead, I pull him closer, feeling the scrape of his stubble against my cheek. He tastes like breath mints from heaven, or something else celestial and minty fresh. When we finally pull apart—which body does not want, but brain insists on—I find I can finally exhale. Will lowers me back to the ground like I’m floating back out of a dream, back to my job and the school and…the fact that I’m still doing my job at the school.

While snogging a parent.

Snogging’s a great word.

Okay, brain. Let’s get back to it.

“That was…” Will’s voice trails off. The tone is deep, rugged, sexy.

I respond, “Shhweee.” I think I was looking for the word sweet, but we’ll never know.

“Very,” he agrees. He steps away, even though every molecule in my body right now is telling me to fling myself back at this tall, infuriating, infuriatingly gorgeous man. But just as I’m about to throw caution and my bra to the wind, someone adorable comes bouncing up to us, her mouse-eared hoodie still on.

meet the author

After ten years of hiding behind a bathroom door, Poppy Dunne has sent both children to school, emerged from the bathroom, and is excited to release Room Service, a romantic comedy plotted mostly on the toilet.

Poppy writes books with relatable heroines who speak their minds and whose riotous inner dialogue reflects their complex characters. Her goal is to deliver a story that has equal parts heart, romance and humor. Her heroes are swoon worthy, yet hold on to your suspension of disbelief, because they pick up their own socks and cook.

In her free time, she looks for hobbies other than Netflix and procrastinating to fill out this author bio. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and children.

social mediatwitterFacebookinstagramGoodreads

buy the book

amazon usamazon UK

500x500 BEP Square

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Humour, Reading Challenges, Reading Nook Blog Posts, Release Blitz, Romance

Leave a Reply

