Author Interview: ‘The Missing Piece’ by Marie Lavender

About the Book:

The biggest mistake of Aly’s life could turn into the promise of new love…

When Alyssa wakes up on the lawn of a local fraternity, she can’t remember what happened the previous night. A new friend and frat guy, Justin, offers to help her out. As she makes discoveries that force her to accept a different reality, she finds herself drawn to Justin for a number of reasons.

Can the biggest mistake of Aly’s life turn into the promise of new love?

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon UK / US

Author Interview:

1: Tell us a little about yourself and what got you in to writing?

I am from the Midwestern U.S., and I live with my family and three cats. I guess you could say I’ve been fascinated with reading since childhood. My love of literature evolved into writing stories. It seemed there was always some tale in my head that I had to write down. I just knew I wanted to write for a living.

2: Do you have a favourite time and place where you write?

When I’m heavily focused on a book project, I can write at any time or anywhere really. But the muse tends to visit me at night before I go to sleep, and usually in bed or at the dining room table. Occasionally inspiration will strike when I’m curled up on the sofa with a feline at my side.

3: Where do your ideas come from?

They come from life, from observations I make, even people I meet. And sometimes my ideas just appear out of nowhere, most likely derived from the jumble of thoughts dancing around in my head.

4: Do you have a plan in your head of where the story is going before you start writing or do you let it carry you along as you go?

I have a general idea, sure, but more often than not the characters lead me in the right direction. But I consider myself a hybrid. Though I do write an outline at some point, I’m also a pantster. Scenes often come to me randomly.

5: What genre are your books and what drew you to that genre?

I term myself a multi-genre author because even though I like to dance in and out of different subgenres of romance (I just love “love”), I’ve also been known to cross genres or try non-romantic stories. I’ve published a children’s fantasy, written poetry and literary fiction, started dystopian and time travel tales, and even dabbled in mystery and horror.

6: What dream cast would you like to see playing the characters in your latest book?

Tough question. For the two main characters in The Missing Piece, I’d probably pick Annalise Basso for Aly and Tyler Posey to play Justin.

7: Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors.

I read when I have free time, which is pretty rare with my schedule. LOL. But I do my best. Some of my favorites are Chloe Neill, Nora Roberts, J.R. Ward, Linda Lee Williams and Mika Jolie.

8: What book/s are you reading at present?

At present? I was just about to launch into something from Nora Roberts’ backlist, Winner Takes All, which is a collection of two novellas.

9: What is your favourite book and why?

I really can’t choose as I have so many favorites, but I do have a real soft spot for J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood Series.

10: What advice would you give for someone thinking about becoming a writer?

I’d say if you need to “think” about it, you’re not quite there yet. Just do it. Start writing, and don’t let anyone tell you can’t write. From the moment you try and you allow the story to flow through you, you’re a writer.

11: What are the best Social Media Sites for people to find out about you and your work?  

Readers can follow me on Facebook through my personal profile or my official author page, on Twitter or Google+, and also subscribe to my blogs (Writing in the Modern Age, the MLB blog and the I Love Romance Blog). They can also check out my author website or subscribe to my author newsletter for updates.

About the Author:

Bestselling multi-genre author of UPON YOUR RETURN and 21 other books. March 2016 Empress of the Universe title – winner of the “Broken Heart” themed contest and the “I Love You” themed contest on Poetry Universe. SECOND CHANCE HEART and A LITTLE MAGICK placed in the TOP 10 on the 2015 P&E Readers’ Poll. Nominated in the TRR Readers’ Choice Awards for Winter 2015. Poetry winner of the 2015 PnPAuthors Contest. The Versatile Blogger Award for 2015. Honorable Mention in the 2014 BTS Red Carpet Book Awards. Finalist and Runner-up in the 2014 MARSocial’s Author of the Year Competition. Honorable mention in the January 2014 Reader’s Choice Award. Liebster Blogger Award for 2013 and 2014. Top 10 Authors on AuthorsDB.com. Winner of the Great One Liners Contest on the Directory of Published Authors.

Marie Lavender lives in the Midwest with her family and three cats. She has been writing for a little over twenty-five years. She has more works in progress than she can count on two hands. Since 2010, Marie has published 22 books in the genres of historical romance, contemporary romance, romantic suspense, paranormal romance, fantasy, science fiction, mystery/thriller, dramatic fiction, literary fiction and poetry. She has also contributed to several multi-author anthologies. Her current series are The Heiresses in Love Series, The Magick Series, The Blood at First Sight Series and The Code of Endhivar Series.

Other Author Links:

Facebook: www.facebook.com/marie.lavender.58 and www.facebook.com/MarieAnnLavender

Twitter: @marielavender1

Google+: plus.google.com/u/0/+MarieLavender/posts

Linkedin: www.linkedin.com/pub/marie-lavender/27/187/10a

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/author/show/6938764.Marie_Lavender

YouTube: www.youtube.com/channel/UCJu8HjRVYCFOqcIoX6ZxdqQ/videos

Amazon author page: Author.to/MarieLavender

Authorsdb: authorsdb.com/authors-directory/1578-marie-lavender

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

