Author Interview: ‘Path to Old Talbot’ by Jordan Elizabeth

About the Book:

Thirteen-year-old Charity can escape her unpleasant reality by stepping through the parlor closet of her mother’s new home, a mansion built in the 1800’s.

In her hometown of Talbot, New York, in the year 1880, she doesn’t have to worry about her depressed father skipping his medications or her mother flirting with her coworker. Instead, she gets to know the hatter’s son, who shows her a lifestyle of manners and pride. Few have ever accepted Charity’s old-fashioned ways…until now.

However, old Talbot can’t banish the present. Charity can stay in the mansion, with access to the hatter’s son in the past, and the prospect of a steady family unit with her mother and the new man in her mother’s life, or she can go back to her father, who has been given the option to straighten out his life and join them in their new home. Instead, his world unravels, and he spirals into violence and self-harm.

Torn between two worlds, Charity knows that if she doesn’t help him, she may lose him forever if he follows through on his threats of self-destruction.

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links:

Amazon: UK / US

Author Interview:

1: Tell us a little about yourself and what got you in to writing?

I have always made up stories. When I was little, I would make up the story to go along with the picture in the book. I refused to read until 4th grade because I said my stories were better!

2: Do you have a favourite time and place where you write?

I used to love to write at night, but now I write whenever I have time. I used to only write in my bedroom, but now I write wherever I can find a space. I have become much more desperate.

3: Where do your ideas come from?

Most of the times they come from dreams. The time travel idea for PATH TO OLD TALBOT came from a dream, although in it the family went out the back door into the past instead of using the parlor closet.

4: Do you have a plan in your head of where the story is going before you start writing or do you let it carry you along as you go?

I tried planning out a story once and I ended up hating it. Each chapter was a chore. Now I just go with the flow. I have an idea and see where it takes me.

5: What genre are your books and what drew you to that genre?

They are all young adult fantasy. I have tried writing contemporary YA, but a bit of fantasy always sneaks in. I love the idea of magic being out in the world.

6: What dream cast would you like to see playing the characters in your latest book?

Me! I would love to have one of my books be made into a movie and have the chance to star in it. Okay, maybe not star. Can I at least have a cameo?

7: Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors?

I read any chance I can get. My favorite author is Maria V. Snyder. Not only does she create amazing worlds, but she has a heart of gold. I’m pleased to call her my friend.

8: What book/s are you reading at present?

I am going through a G. Miki Hayden kick. She was kind enough to send me paperback copies. Right now I only have time to read while at work on my breaks.

9: What is your favourite book and why?

THE SEVENTH PRINCESS. Thinking about the story still makes me smile. It was the first chapter book I ever read.

10: What advice would you give for someone thinking about becoming a writer?

Never give up. There are a lot of haters out there. Not everyone will like your work. Write for you and from your heart.

11: What are the best Social Media Sites for people to find out about you and your work?

I am on Twitter and Facebook. I use Facebook more, but I’m pushing myself to be more Twitter-rific. You can find me on Facebook as “Jordan Elizabeth – Author.”

About the Author:

Jordan Elizabeth, formally Jordan Elizabeth Mierek, writes down her nightmares in order to live her dreams. When she’s not creating art or searching for lost history in the woods, she’s updating her blog. Jordan roams Central New York, but she loves to travel.

Jordan is a young adult fantasy author represented by the Belcastro Agency.

Connect with Jordan:

Website: www.jordanelizabethmierek.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Jordan-Elizabeth-Mierek

Twitter: @JayliaDarkness

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/joriemierek

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

