Author Interview: ‘Seventies Child’ by David P. Anderson

About the Book:

Seventies Child recalls a bygone era when children were free to explore and often ran wild. A collection of humorous and often heartfelt stories that examine universal themes that define growing up: sibling rivalry, fear, bullying, envy, peer pressure, friendship, and infatuation. This fictional memoir follows hero/anti-hero Samuel Ballard as he struggles to mature from five to fifteen in 1970s suburban Boston. Whether he’s battling insomnia and his brother to be the first to open his presents in “The Christmas Alarm Clock”, teaming with his best friend weirdo Jocko to dodge jail in “The Card Heist”, or reluctantly associating with the hated “Preps” to woo his dream girl in the “The First Girlfriend”, Samuel is hard to root against despite his proclivity towards mischief. Seventies Child is a time warp back to the days of disco starring a rock & roll bad boy.

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links:

Amazon: UK / US

Author Interview:

1: Tell us a little about yourself and what got you in to writing?

I first got into writing when I wrote some poems for a girl that broke up with me when I was junior in high school. The poems didn’t change her mind but stoked my creative fire. I morphed into a prose writer a few years later when I attempted to write a memoir about my wild teen years (I’m lucky I survived them), this lead to screenwriting and creative writing classes.

2: Do you have a favourite time and place where you write?

I prefer to write in my windowless basement office because it’s so quiet and down there the distractions from my three daughters are muffled. If the weather is nice I’ll write outside under the shade of a maple tree.

3: Where do your ideas come from?

Sometimes the ideas float into my mind mysteriously. I’ll just get an idea and think “that would make a great story.” Other times I sit and try to brainstorm ideas, but usually those forced ideas don’t get my juices flowing the way inspired ideas do.

4: Do you have a plan in your head of where the story is going before you start writing or do you let it carry you along as you go?

I use both methods when I write. I like to know the beginning and the general location of the ending, but the rest I make up as I go.

5: What genre are your books and what drew you to that genre?

Dead Sprint is YA supernatural. Seventies Child is fictional memoir. I didn’t plan to write a YA novel it grew out of an assignment from a class prompt to write a short story based on a real experience. I took an incident from the 1980s and kept writing and writing about it until I had almost one hundred pages and my professor told me it had the potential to be novel, so I continued writing. For the other book, I always loved memoirs, especially humor based stories like David Sedaris writes or Jean Shepherd.

6: What dream cast would you like to see playing the characters in your latest book?

It would have to be a few young actors playing the hero because his age changes from 5-15. For the father character, Alec Baldwin would be great. For the mother, Kristin Wiig.

7: Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors.

I’m an avid reader. I have been for over 30 years. My favorites are Stephen King, Harlan Coben, Frank McCourt, David Sedaris, Andre Dubis, Hemingway.

8: What book/s are you reading at present?

I’m reading two at the moment: Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert and Superstud by Paul Feig.

9: What is your favourite book and why?

Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt. Funny, honest, heartbreaking, inspiring. Also I love the history of Ireland and love anything set in the 1940s.

10: What advice would you give for someone thinking about becoming a writer?

Read as much as you can. Write as much as you can.

11: What are the best Social Media Sites for people to find out about you and your work?  

Website –  www.davidpanderson.wordpress.com

Facebook – www.facebook.com/DavidPAndersonFiction

Twitter – @DavidPanderson

About the Author:

David works as a video editor, and as a valet to his puggle Summer. He loves to write, laugh, and hang with his family. He has written 5 feature film screenplays including the Blockbuster- Gone With The Wind starring Clarke Gable.
Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

