Author Interview: ‘Hidden in the Dark’ by RaShell Lashbrook

About the Book:

After enduring a lifetime of abuse at the hands of the man that vowed to cherish her, Genny Carter knows only the role of the victim. More focused on avoiding punishment than the wellbeing of her three daughters, she ignored the terror inflicted on them by their father during their childhood. She kept his secrets. Now, in her sixties, Genny has had enough. She needs her daughters to help her escape. Can she count on them?

Lilly has tried for decades since leaving that little Texas farmhouse to erase the unspeakable things that were done to her. After snagging a wealthy man, she reinvents herself into a polished member of San Antonio’s old-money society. Can she keep up this façade, or will the secrets she hides cause her to lose everything?

Always Daddy’s favorite, thirty-five-year-old Randi tries to bury her shame in a mountain of sex and drugs. Estranged from her parents for nearly ten years, the news of Mother’s leaving forces her to face old wounds. Will she survive?

Much younger than her sisters, Raine was left to deal with Daddy’s horrific abuse after the others left. Shanti, free of a conscience, was conjured to help protect little Raine by whatever means necessary. Raine’s mother and father are back in the picture, and Shanti is on a rampage.

Every family has secrets. Some are worth dying for.

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links:

Amazon: UK / US

Author Interview:

1: Tell us a little about yourself and what got you in to writing?

Because my parents threw our television away when I was two years old, I spent my childhood devouring books. I knew that I wanted to write someday but until my forties, I didn’t feel that I had anything to write about. I went through some personal challenges in my early forties. Writing became a fantastic outlet for me to vent my frustrations. In 2012, I created a DIY blog. Around the same time frame, I began writing my first novel. Although it took me longer to complete than I anticipated, writing the novel was an exercise in absolute joy (and at times, frustration).

2: Do you have a favourite time and place where you write?

I have a little corner by the window in our dining room that is cozy and bright. I love being able to see outside, and the natural light is perfect. Writing in the early morning tends to be best for me, before I’ve had a chance to wake up all the way. But, through the years, I’ve written whenever, and wherever I can.

3: Where do your ideas come from?

The seeds of ideas come from my life, or something that I’ve heard on the news. Most often, though, the ideas feel inspired by some unknown source that’s gifted to me.

4: Do you have a plan in your head of where the story is going before you start writing or do you let it carry you along as you go?

With my first book, Hidden in the Dark, I didn’t have any sort of plan. I felt as if the characters were showing me their stories. I would sit down and wait for the words to come. The book that I’m currently writing is a prequel, so I do have a loose plan. I still don’t know the details until I write them. I feel more like a detective, uncovering the truths as I go. I can’t imagine that I would ever create an outline, although I did create a character profile.

5: What genre are your books and what drew you to that genre?

I would classify my books as psychological thrillers/suspense. While they are heavy on family drama and conflict, there are enough twists and turns that they fall into the suspense/thriller genre. I’ve always loved stories that keep me on the edge of my seat, or push the limit in some way. I rarely like reading stories that wrap up neatly into a big happy, fluffy ending.

6: What dream cast would you like to see playing the characters in your latest book?

That’s a difficult one. I think Diane Lane would be perfect for the character of Genny. Although she isn’t old enough to play the part in the end of the story, I believe she could play the part of the older Genny with a great makeup crew. Young Genny would need to be a lookalike (perhaps Diane Lane’s daughter).

Lillian should be played by Katherine Heigl. Miranda (Randi) would be perfectly portrayed by Rachel McAdams. I think casting Raine would be the most fun. She has multiple personalities, the most prominent being Serenity (her sexual side) and Shanti (her murderous, dark personality). She is much younger than her sisters, so I think Dakota Johnson would be perfect. She has a cool beauty about her and I think she could switch through the personalities easily. Their monster of a father, Randall, should be played by Jack Conley.

7: Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors.

I don’t read for enjoyment as much as I used to, especially not while writing. Hands down, my favorite authors are Anne Rice and Stephen King. I do love so many others that it would be impossible to list.

8: What book/s are you reading at present?

Tools of Titans by Tim Ferriss

9: What is your favourite book and why?

The Wizard of Oz. As a Kansas girl, it was practically required reading. I completely identified with Dorothy. I will never forget the magical feeling of escaping to Oz through that story.

10: What advice would you give for someone thinking about becoming a writer?

Write. Write even if it’s bad writing (it will be at first). Don’t think about it. Just do it. I spent many years thinking about it. I regret not doing sooner. Be open to everything, don’t get too caught up in the advice, until you are marketing your book. Then you should pay attention to those who have gone before you.

11: What are the best Social Media Sites for people to find out about you and your work?  

Facebook and Instagram. I am a Facebooker at heart, but my children have encouraged me to use Instagram. I do tweet, but my Twitter account is severely underdeveloped. And of course, my website is a great place to learn more about me and my work.

Website: www.rashelllashbrook.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/RaShellLashbrook

Twitter: @poppyjuiceblog

Instagram: www.instagram.com/rashelllashbrook

 

About the Author:

RaShell Danette Lashbrook was born in Wellington, Kansas, the eldest daughter of Lyle and Marcia Pope Lashbrook. Her parents threw the television away when she was just two years old, so she spent her childhood in Mulvane, Kansas reading, exploring, biting her nails, and picking her nose.Her deep love of reading always fueled a small flame of desire to write, but it wasn’t until 2012 that she began to practice the craft of throwing words onto paper and rearranging them repeatedly.

She is blessed to share her life with her first love, her six magnificent children and their friends, parents (including an awesome stepdad) that anyone would be envious of, Andee (her best friend since the eighth grade), the best siblings in the whole world, a crazy Australian Shepard, a psychotic Siberian Husky, and a “top-shelf” circle of extended family and friends.

RaShell’s fascination with many different subjects has served her well in her writing. She prefers to think of her dabbling as “research”. Her lasting passions have been organic gardening, music, cooking, murder, mysteries, aliens, and people with mental disorders.

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

