Book Review: ‘Taming a Maverick’ by C.M. Owens

Title: Taming a Maverick (The Sterling Shore Series Book 11)

Published: 8th May 2017

Author: C.M. Owens

Facebook: www.facebook.com/CMOwensAuthor

Twitter: @cmowensauthor

Synopsis:

SALEM

Just some fun. Just one night of reckless, harmless, wild fun.

That’s what I told myself the night I hooked up with quite possibly the sexiest guy I’ve ever known. Only, I didn’t want to KNOW him. Life is a series of temporary situations, or so it’s always been for me. A future revolves around the next move, but I’m still the type to live in the moment on a seldom occasion, consequences be damned.

Unless that moment happens to be unknowingly landing in bed with my brand new stepbrother. The universe is a mean, twisted jerk. And one consequence is that I have to be around him and get to know him. The worst consequence is the fact that Maverick Sterling, the infamous playboy who can’t possibly be tamed, is really hard not to want more of once you’ve had a taste. So long as I’m not stupid enough to fall in love, it shouldn’t be a big deal. Right?

MAVERICK

My life has been blissfully simple for a really long time. I have a routine. I have friends. I have family. Yet everyone seems to have less and less time, since they’re all sort of trying to be adults or what the hell ever. I blame them for the fact the only girl to ever ditch me without a backward glance is suddenly under my skin. I blame my father for the fact she’s a new fixture in my life. Not that I knew that before I got a little overly friendly with my new stepsister. I mean, what are the odds? It shouldn’t have been possible.

But it happened. It figures the one girl I can’t get out of my head is the one girl who doesn’t want to be with me. At least in my head she’s the only girl who doesn’t want to be with me, because I tend to be arrogant like that. The point is, now she’s everywhere I turn, yet she’s marking a line in the sand that she thinks I really won’t cross.

Obviously she doesn’t know me at all.

*Can be read as a stand-alone
*Sexual Content
*Adult Language

 

Review:

Oh my sweet lord Maverick is awesome. I love him so much. Knew his story was going to be good but this knocked it out of the park with what came. Who would have thought that Mav would be the most romantic and easiest to fall for? Things I love about this book #monopoly #bananas #piemoment #warmup

So Salem is in a new town but knows it won’t be permanent due to past experiences with family problems due to her mother’s relationships. For just one night before all the crazy comes in she wants a night of fun and after one look she’s found just the guy for the job. Hunter becomes the prey it seems. Though after one look at her outfit it doesn’t take long for Mav to make his move. Talk about fast work for the pair of them, so its good they seem to know where they both stand. Passion ignites for a fast bit of fun. Though Mav insists it was just a warm up so he’s none too pleased to find his beauty gone before he’s done with her. Shouldn’t worry too much though as fate has worked its magic. After a broken phone call from his father a few days later he goes to check out their beach house – one that just happens to have a hot squatter inside of. One he knows a little too well it seems and after the bombshell that gets dropped, one he maybe shouldn’t have gone near – his new stepsister. What are the odds right? Though we’re so glad it happened because fun antics are on the way for sure.

A sure fire way to make sure they stay platonic now is to become friends as Mav insists he doesn’t hit on friends – yeah well we know that won’t last long for both of them. The thing is the longer they hang around each other the more they both want something more which puts them in a bit of a tricky situation. A deal is struck so one thing is off the table for now but Mav’s counter is brilliant. They suit each other perfectly and when she cracks you are right with her. Mav the hero it seems with stepping up to help Sean when the time comes – a shirtless Mav love it.

Salem and her younger brother Sean are the only ones that followed their mother to a new place due to her new marriage. Its all part of a system that they go along with, wherever Sean goes Salem will follow, she is the only one bringing warmth into his life where their mother only brings coldness. Her other brothers when they show up are great with their cameos but Sean is by far the star. He is like Mav 2.0 and when they spar its like Mav is talking to his younger self. Brilliant banter, could listen to it all day. Note to self though Maverick – do not under any circumstances let people use your phone. Twitter is fun though! Great running theme throughout with the tweet chats. Love his mum and aunt when they start chatting away on it. One sure way to make Mav cringe away and others laugh their heads off. Be wary of lending phones is all I will say.

With the other books in the series a pattern forms where it’s usually the guy that does something stupid to mess things up. Not saying Mav doesn’t do a few things (funny as they are) but I’m glad this one went a different way. That being said my heart broke a bit near the end. Love that this one linked in more of our Triple Dare and Break Even guys and girls. Ruby, Corbin, Brin and Rye are great and the pranks and dares we see are brilliant. You also get more links in with the group as a whole as we are almost at our final stop with the wedding we have been waiting for. Before that though we are going to get a cracker, I can feel it. Can’t wait for Britt’s story. Thinking I will be laughing throughout just from the preview at the end. Teasers are good but it just makes you want the next one that much more. Side note: loving the fact that we are going to be getting a bit of a spin off with Connor. Sports Romances are so in right now.

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading Nook Blog Posts, Romance

Leave a Reply

