Author Interview: ‘Heritage: A Transcend Novel’ by Addie Hunter

 

Arhaus, Nevada is a small town on I-70 that currently has more superheroes than trees. After an accident in the summer of 2012, six teens gain superhuman abilities and quickly decide to put them to good use and become heroes in a world that’s since lost its good opinion of people with abilities. As if that weren’t enough trouble trying to keep their powers hidden from their friends and family, they’re going into their senior year of high school. Strange symbols begin appearing all around town, a new kid moves in, someone threatens to bomb the news building, and Dave still can’t find a date to his senior homecoming. Blaise hopes that they can figure out who keeps setting all these fires, and Kat just wants to graduate in one piece. The first novel in the Transcend series, Heritage sets up a universe full of the supernatural, following the lives of six friends as they begin to find out the world is much bigger than it once seemed.

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links:

Amazon: UK / US

Author Interview:

1: Tell us a little about yourself and what got you in to writing?

I’ve always been a huge reader. Even when I was in elementary school, I was constantly at the library and usually checked out at least eight books at a time. I told stories all the time to my younger siblings and friends, and eventually began just writing them down. I’ve always enjoyed it, and so I guess it was just a matter of time before I finally finished a book!

2: Do you have a favourite time and place where you write?

Everywhere and anywhere. I’ve been known to pull out my phone while out with friends just so I can jot something down for my story. I get the biggest chunks of writing done when music’s playing and I have a good candle going, but otherwise I can write just about anywhere!

3: Where do your ideas come from?

Real life experiences combined with a massive imagination. A surprising amount of ideas come from when I’m talking with my brother or sister and one of them says, “Okay, imagine this exact scenario, but with vampires,” or something along those lines. Recently, a lot of ideas have come out of a really good song or seeing something in a movie that makes me think, “This is a really good point, except…

4: Do you have a plan in your head of where the story is going before you start writing or do you let it carry you along as you go?

Usually, no. I kind of just start and the characters take over. With this series, however, I’ve actually sat down and outlined every novel in it, and the major plot points within those. Something about these characters just made me want to give them a well thought out, well planned adventure. It’s going to be one heck of a ride.

5: What genre are your books and what drew you to that genre?

The Transcend series is Superhero Fiction, which is still a relatively small genre, but growing rapidly thanks to Marvel and DC movies. I think if anything, the potential of this genre is what really made me want to dig into it. Anything that combines human nature with outlandish circumstances is right up my alley, especially when flashy costumes and lame puns are involved. I love seeing how different characters react to similar situations, and when you throw powers into the mix, it’s amazing the kinds of character development and changes you’ll see. (There’s also a lot of fantasy and science fiction elements to this story. It’s not all capes and saving the day.)

6: What dream cast would you like to see playing the characters in your latest book?

I want Hugh Jackman to play Ricky. He’s my only request. After seeing him in Logan, I realized he’d fit perfectly into the role. Other than that, I’ve always been able to see this series as a Netflix or MTV show, and I really like how a lot of their actors look relatable, like they’re someone you’d see walking down the street in the middle of Kansas or something. As long as the actors keep the ‘real world’ feel to it, I’m happy with just about any cast (plus Hugh Jackman).

7: Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors?

I do! Whenever I’m not working (or writing) I’m usually reading. I’ve always loved JK Rowling’s writing. She was a big inspiration as I was growing up. I’ve also always loved Shel Silverstein’s poems. Maggie Stiefvater and Christopher Paolini are definitely up there as well.

8: What book/s are you reading at present?

The Tales of King Arthur and His Knights by Howard Pyle. I also just finished up The Raven Cycle, which I loved.

9: What is your favourite book and why?

If I had to pick a book, it’d either be King of Shadows by Sharon Cooper or Eragon by Christopher Paolini. I’ve read both of those books so many times that I’ve lost track. Eragon just had a fantastic world built up and who doesn’t love dragons?

10: What advice would you give for someone thinking about becoming a writer?

Go for it! Even if it seems really intimidating at first (which we all know it is) you never know until you try. If it makes you happy and you love doing it, definitely go for it. You never know what might happen.

11: What are the best Social Media Sites for people to find out about you and your work?  

Probably on my blog! I’m always on there and I’m more than happy to talk to people. The twitter for the Transcend series is another good one as well, I check that pretty often.

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/author/show/16662571.Addie_Hunter

Blog: addhunter.tumblr.com

 

About the Author:

Addie Hunter has been writing since she was young, always coming up with new characters and stories. A huge fan of anything superhero related, it was only a matter of time before she came up with some superhero characters, and the Transcend series is the culmination of a lifelong fascination with the supernatural and cliche, overused tropes. She has thirteen plants and three jobs and one psycho dog.
Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

