Author Interview: ‘Them’ by MG Hardie

About the Book:

Them are everywhere, yet nowhere. They are warriors, soldiers, executors of fate. They are not human. They can’t be bargained with. They can’t be reasoned with and they absolutely will not stop.

When stock trader Devon Heathrow finds a mysterious device, a new world is open to him. He is plunged into a world of violence and uncertainty. Otherworlders murder his wife, his daughter and him.

Devon was dead.

Revived…hurt and alone, he does the only thing he can do…run. Armed with nothing he is forced to hide in the shadows, doing the unimaginable to survive. He is continually haunted by nightmares and pursued around the world by dark agents.

Now inextricably entwined in an unknown plan, a tormented Devon must return home to get the answers he so desperately needs. He returns to where it all began seeking redemption and revenge, but how?

Don’t trust your eyes, your ears or what you think you know because sometimes, it’s not skill, hard work or luck that determines who wins and who loses, or who succeeds and who fails…

sometimes it’s Them.

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links:

Amazon: UK / US

Author Interview:

1: Tell us a little about yourself and what got you in to writing?

I started off writing poetry in high school. In high school I wrote a poem, which I scribbled down in 5 minutes. I was asked to read the poem in front of the class. The effect of my words on the class and the teacher taught me the power of words. With so much death, violence and just general unkindness around us; I wanted to use whatever power I could muster from words to cause change and if not at least a discussion. I write with the hope that my titles affect people.

2: Do you have a favourite time and place where you write?

I am always jotting things down, but I tend to do my writing after 11pm, because that’s usually when the children are sleeping.

3: Where do your ideas come from?

I draw inspiration from everything, the world we live in. Each title I have written was to entertain but, I also to give a voice to the voiceless. Every book shows a different angle or gives underreported stories a little more time.

I am always challenging myself. Write a book, that sounds like a simple idea…but can I write a humorous book that is also a book of poetry, filled with philosophy, social issues and lots of urban goodness and make it work? That’s the challenge.

I try to write what I would like to read. I do get a lot of push back; I have even been told that I am giving the audience too much and I that should break the story into three narratives, for additional books to maximize financially.

Challenging established norms isn’t the easiest way to go, which is probably why I can’t help but do it. THEM pushes more boundaries than I have in the past. It is difficult to grasp Mother Nature, but a hurricane, a tornado, a earthquake that has a true an understandable purpose for the damage and destruction caused, needed something unique, something different. I want the audience to read the unexpected.

4: Do you have a plan in your head of where the story is going before you start writing or do you let it carry you along as you go?

With THEM I had no idea where the story would go. Devon Heathrow starts his day with expectations of what the world should be, at the end on the day he realizes what the world is. At the end there should be some big battle complete with flashing lights and big bangs and there isn’t.

5: What genre are your books and what drew you to that genre?

‘EveryDay Life’ is a stage play. ‘It Ain’t Just the Size’ is a stage play, a novel and book of poetry. ‘Midnight: Rise of the Black Vampires’ is Fantasy, Urban and a Graphic Novel. ‘THEM’ is science fiction.

6: What dream cast would you like to see playing the characters in your latest book?

If we were talking about Rise of the Black Vampires the choice would be easy, Amber Wharton would be played by Alexandra Shipp.

In THEM, to play Devon Heathrow an actor would need to show mental and physical evolution, so Tristan Wilds, or Josh Hutcherson come to mind. Evan Rachel Wood or Tessa Thompson can pull off being his smart and sexy wife Sarah. The role of Influence would go to Juno Temple, or Yara Shahidi. Jake Gyllenhaal would be perfect for the role of Prime.

John Boyega would be Wildfire and Michael Angarano would be a perfect fit for Tornado. There are so many actors I could fit into interesting roles for THEM, but I’ll stop there.

7: Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors.

I can’t say I have a favorite author because I love the classics, but Stephen King used to keep me up at night.

8: What book/s are you reading at present?

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey, The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins and The Invisible Man

9: What is your favourite book and why?

I have to say the ‘Cartoon History of the Universe I, Vol. 1-7: From the Big Bang to Alexander the Great’ by Larry Gonick. I know it’s not a sexy pick like say The Hunger Games or The Kite Runner, but if you like your information with a side of laughter, there is no better book…it’s hilarious.

10: What advice would you give for someone thinking about becoming a writer?

I always hear people say “I’m thinking about writing a novel.”

I always say, “Stop thinking about it and write it.”

11: What are the best Social Media Sites for people to find out about you and your work?  

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MG-Hardie-277636622262511/

Website: http://mghardie.wixsite.com/them-are-here

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Every1HasAGift

YouTube trailer:

 

About the Author:

Who is MG Hardie?An average guy making his way in the world. Speaking and writing are my contribution to make the world a better place.

What are the names of your titles?

My works include EveryDay Life, It Ain’t Just The Size, Midnight: Rise of the Black Vampires and the upcoming science fiction THEM title.

What is it that makes your work unique?

Each time I am told not to do something…it motivates me to break the rules and to push limits.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

