Author Interview: ‘Death Scares Me’ by Keelan Cloud

About the Book:

Modern poetry and short stories.

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links:

Amazon: UK / US

Author Interview:

1: Tell us a little about yourself and what got you in to writing?
A lot of it is just a real zeal for life.  I’m known all around this town for responding to folks’ “How are you doing?” with “It’s good to be alive!”Also, I was diagnosed as having severe bipolar disorder about 17 years ago. I was in and out of hospitals a lot for the first 5 years, but medication has at least kept me just outpatient since. I do believe that I’m naturally drawn to being a creative person.

2: Do you have a favourite time and place where you write?I write on my phone in bed at night. I write in my car sitting outside alone. I write on my laptop on a desk or library. I sit outside on a nice day and write. I have several special spots it seems.

I do believe that both a common area helps you focus to write and also that being somewhere different sometimes helps you with your inspiration. I try to always be ready to write a quick new idea down on my phone.

3: Where do your ideas come from?

With my 17 years of mental health struggles, I’ve honestly got most ideas from my mind itself.

To explain: Many of my poems are from song lyrics that naturally popped into my brain. If I had the talent to play music or act, I might do those things. (At least with just writing I don’t have to balance fame and insanity, though).

There’s been some dream inspiration, too. In the second collection that I’m almost done with, there are 2 examples of stories from dreams:

First, “Eternal Hockey” came from a dream I had 15 years ago.  I had died and woke up in the afterlife which was “Eternal Hockey”. (And I can’t skate.)

Second, the upcoming short thriller, “Torture”, is from a nightmare, too. There is an all-knowing and all-powerful being known as Torture. He brings you light years away from anything and everything. There he makes you watch as he tortures your loved ones.

And oftentimes, I’ve written about how good it is just to be alive itself. And the things in our life.

4: Do you have a plan in your head of where the story is going before you start writing or do you let it carry you along as you go?

Both. I start with an idea, but it does change a lot once I’m writing and I’m re-writing. Diligence seems to be the key.

5: What genre are your books and what drew you to that genre?

I consider myself a grunge and folk artist, but my craft is just writing, not music or film. I’m from a farm 6 miles from a small Oklahoma town. However, I spent my teenage years listening to Nirvana and partying quite hard. (Which I don’t do at all these days). My genre isn’t fantasy, horror, romance, sci-fi, or anything, I do know that. But I’m very open to exploring a couple of those one-day.

6: What dream cast would you like to see playing the characters in your latest book?

Well, for the story “Someone Else”, where I awake one day and I’ve magically became a real old dying man, Jack Nicholson.  I’ve watched him my entire life. If not him, Harrison Ford.

I think in “Complete!” where a mid 30’s loser wrote a novel, titled it “Complete!” and then intentionally lived it out in front of the world, Chris Pratt. Both for his age and himself, too.

I won’t go through all my stories, but I’ll add this. If “Litter” was made a film, I’d do one of the animals’ voices myself!

7: Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors.

Up until high school, I was a book reading nerd. After that though, as a teenager, I just read Dean Koontz’ “The Voice of the Night” and Michael Crichton’s “The Lost World” before the movie was made. I still wish the scene chasing the raptor with the needed key hanging from his tooth should’ve been in the film.

8: What book/s are you reading at present?

As of late, as I’m now venturing into writing, I’m half-way through “The Catcher in the Rye” and I’ve checked “The Old Man and the Sea” out from the library to read next. I realize reading these will make me a better writer. (And it’s been enjoyable).

9: What is your favourite book and why?

It’s already “The Catcher in the Rye”.  The genius and the detail, the story, I can’t believe its coolness for being written so many decades ago. I’m stoked for “The Old Man and the Sea” already.

10: What advice would you give for someone thinking about becoming a writer?

It’s good to be alive! Also, work very hard. Even work hard at marketing. My biggest mistake was self-publishing my collection 14 months ago and just now really focusing on marketing it to the world. It’s part of the job.

11: What are the best Social Media Sites for people to find out about you and your work?  

I should’ve had a website already. I should do it this week. Being as I self-published with CreateSpace, the collection is easily available on Amazon. I’ve also used the online writing community FanStory to get feedback and copyright usage for several years.

 

About the Author:

For Keelan Cloud, life really began at age 5, in 1985, in his hometown of Poteau, Oklahoma, U.S.A. A smart “gifted and talented” student, Keelan climaxed his intelligence in the small town of Antlers, Oklahoma, U.S.A, in the spring of 1992, as he was voted both 6th Grade “Smartest Boy” and “Most Likely To Succeed (Boy)” in the school newspaper. After returning to Poteau, he would shine again. At 15 he became the most physically attractive young man on the planet Earth at the time. He would spend his teenage years iconic and polarizing. In 1999, he was in a mental institution, diagnosed as being insane. Due to the event and his notorious status, the government, along with the famed celebrities of the time, placed several satellites in orbit to follow his every move. They also hid cameras and voice recorders everywhere he might go. He was known worldwide, secretly. Later, as an adult, he cleaned his life of tobacco and heavy substance abuse. Over time, he finally discovered that he was a creative genius. After failing to break into music and film, due to lack of musical and film skill, he turned his gifts and talents toward literature, both in poetic, and soon, novel forms.

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

