Author Interview: ‘Single Chicas’ by Sandra C. Lopez

About the Book:

Perfection is a Barbie doll, and, unless you’re looking for a guy with a fake smile, a hard head, and no genitalia, then you’re better off NOT being perfect―Single ChicasSingle Chicas is a collection of stories about modern Latinas being in, out, and around the zany hurdles of relationships. One woman receives strange calls from a lonely soul, another seeks advice on how to love herself, and another wakes up in a parallel universe to a man she’s never met. These chicas will make painstaking effort to survive the complexities with humor and grace. Once again, López dazzles audiences with her brilliantly candid craft. Smart, witty, and funny, these stories will explore the true endurance of singlehood.

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links:

Amazon – UK / US

Author Interview:

1: Tell us a little about yourself and what got you in to writing?

I started writing my first book right out of high school. My first novel was about a 14-year old Mexican-American girl growing up in an impoverished neighborhood with the aspiration of going to college. Being that I was still a teenager, I had that raw, teenage voice that my editor deemed valuable to the story. And, from then on, I just kept on writing.

2: Do you have a favourite time and place where you write?

I write whenever inspiration strikes (or whenever I have the time.) I don’t particularly have a favorite place. Heck, sometimes I don’t even have a pen and paper with me when an idea comes to me. In those cases, I’ve had to use whatever was around—post it, napkin, etc.

3: Where do your ideas come from?

The world is my canvas. My observations and experiences go into my craft.

4: Do you have a plan in your head of where the story is going before you start writing or do you let it carry you along as you go?

A little of both. At the beginning, I have some idea of where I’d like the story to go, but then sometimes that can change when I read through it again. At that point, the story takes a life of its own.

5: What genre are your books and what drew you to that genre?

I write in the genres that I, myself, am interested in.

6: What dream cast would you like to see playing the characters in your latest book?

My latest book, Single Chicas, was described as a Latina version of Sex and the City, so I kind of picture Sofia Vergara in it because she’s fun, flirty, and sassy.

7: Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors.

I real A LOT and I like A LOT of authors. I don’t have a favorite because asking a reader to pick a favorite author is like asking a mother to pick a favorite child.

8: What book/s are you reading at present?

I’m reading a series called Tough Justice: Countdown, which is about a female FBI Agent on the hunt for a serial bomber in NYC.

9: What is your favourite book and why?

Again, I bring up the mother analogy.

10: What advice would you give for someone thinking about becoming a writer?

Read anything and everything that you can get your hands on, and just keep on writing.

11: What are the best Social Media Sites for people to find out about you and your work?  

Website: www.sandra-lopez.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Sandra-Lopez

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/author/show/1656820.Sandra_C_Lopez

Blog: www.sandrasbookclub.blogspot.com

 

About the Author:

Sandra Lopez is considered one of today’s influential Latina writers in young adult literature.Her first novel, “Esperanza,” a teen fiction novel, was published in March 2008 WHILE she was still in college! “Beyond the Gardens,” is the sequel to her engaging and inspirational heroine, Esperanza.

She travels as much as she can and is currently at work on her next book.

To find out more about her books, please visit her website at http://www.sandra-lopez.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

