Author Interview: ‘Loading: Life’ by E. N. Chaffin

About the Book:

Everyone has a special ability in Devi Omega. Everyone except Hero Leander, the official troublemaker of Class 1B. But his life gets even worse when he is partnered with Annie Mei Fields on a history project. Not only is she a straight-A student and the top Charisma-user of the school, but she is determined to make him do his part of the work. As they hit the books, though, they soon discover that an evil corporation is kidnapping teens in order to cure a deadly disease. Hero thinks the two shouldn’t get involved. That is until his only friend is also taken. Hero and Annie Mei put their lives on the line in order to save their world. But with gang attacks, drug deals, twisted corporate goons, and a teacher that won’t get off their case, these two unlikely fighters have little time to think about their next step. Can they save the world and still get a passing grade?

Add to Goodreads

 

Purchase Links:

Amazon – UK / US

Author Interview:

1: Tell us a little about yourself and what got you in to writing?

I don’t know what would be really interesting about me. Right now I’m living with my parents and helping them raise two of my nephews and one of my nieces. I’m working nights, but want to leave the retail world for one that would allow me to write, sew, and spend time with people I love more. I got into writing when I was really young. When other kids were drawing, I was writing little stories about anime characters. (I later found out that was called fanfiction.) I just love telling stories and getting people to laugh, cry and love everything in their lives.

2: Do you have a favourite time and place where you write?

I love writing in the mornings, right before everyone wakes up. The peace and quiet helps my raging mind think. (Along with my nephews and niece leaving me alone for one second so I can write.)

3: Where do your ideas come from?

Most just randomly pop into my head. If I get really excited about one, I’ll try to figure out the gist of the whole story. But if I can’t at the time, I set that idea aside and go to the next one. The best way for me to get one is just to ask “what if ____ was different right now?” Like, “What if a vampire was the cashier checking me out?”

4: Do you have a plan in your head of where the story is going before you start writing or do you let it carry you along as you go?

I try to plan out as much of the story as I can before I write it. But, in all honesty, when the excitement takes hold of me, I just have to write! Even if it’s a scene that might not make it in the final story. I can only fully understand my world and characters when I spend time with them like that.

5: What genre are your books and what drew you to that genre?

My first book Loading: Life is a mix between science fiction and fantasy. But most of the books I’m writing fall into the fantasy genre. I blame all the anime I watch for loving this genre.

6: What dream cast would you like to see playing the characters in your latest book?

Dream cast? Hmm. Actually, I imagine my book being turned into an anime with my favorite voice actors, like Johnny Yong Bosch and Todd Haberkorn, playing my characters. I think that would give a great video game feel to it – something I was striving for with this book.

7: Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors.

Due to the curse of reading endless textbooks in college, I wasn’t able to read for enjoyment in a long time. But, in recent years, I’ve found that I love stories by Diana Wynne Jones and William Joyce.

8: What book/s are you reading at present?

Right now I’m rereading Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. I plan on rereading the Guardians series by Joyce to gear up for the final book Jack Frost. I’m a sucker for fairy tale based stories.

9: What is your favourite book and why?

I would have to say Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. I have watched the Miyazaki film many times before and fell in love with Sophie and Howl. But when I found out that it was based on Jones’ book, I found a copy at the library and ate it up. Her writing style may seem “out-of-date” for some, but it brings the story to life! Like a grandmother telling her grandchildren about her life that just happened to have magic, wizards, and a mind-blowing twist in it!

10: What advice would you give for someone thinking about becoming a writer?

You may have heard this before, but just keep writing. Explore how you write and don’t try to compare yourself to others. If you’re serious about publishing, explore all your options of how you can get your story out there, and please – PLEASE – research. Take advice from writers before you and learn from their mistakes. (And remember your own so you can help others after you.)

11: What are the best Social Media Sites for people to find out about you and your work? 

I’m usually on Twitter more than anything. But I also have a Facebook, Instagram, and Youtube account. And don’t forget to visit my website to read my short stories for free!

You can find Loading: Life on Amazon.

About the Author:

E.N. Chaffin is an American author, born and raised on country cooking and Japanese anime. Aside from drowning herself in reading manga and sewing cosplay, she also enjoys making memories with her family, friends, and dogs. Chaffin spends her time writing short stories for her blog and researching for current and upcoming projects at conventions and on YouTube. She currently lives in Northwest Arkansas with her family and three dogs, Kahn, Scooter, and Annie Leonhart (no association with Annie Mei Fields.)
Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

