Author Interview: ‘Monarchy’ by Laura Pritchard

About the Book:

In the times after the reformation, the leaders of the new world have created the perfect society. There is no exaggerated wealth or famishing poverty. There is no starvation or crime or disease. The citizens of the sectors are secure and well nourished, forever protected by the life the Monarchy have so gracefully afforded.

Add to Goodreads

 

Purchase Links:

Amazon – UKUS

 

Author Interview:

1: Tell us a little about yourself and what got you in to writing?

My name is Laura Pritchard and I am from a small town in the South Wales Valleys in the United Kingdom. I am a teacher by day and an author by night! I currently teach music to children who have been expelled from school. I have written for as long as I can remember! I have distinct memories of filling notebooks with stories from a very young age. The passion came from my love of reading but unfortunately, life got in the way, as it tends to do. I came up with the initial story for my novel about 2 years ago and have put all of my time and effort into perfecting it since then. Being a mum to 2 young children and a secondary school English teacher alongside means I have become a professional life juggler and I try to fit as much writing time as I can!

2: Do you have a favourite time and place where you write?

I tend to write in the evenings as my days are normally pretty full up. I love to sit at my desk and lose myself in writing and sometimes find myself sitting in the dark as I have been writing for so long without realizing.

3: Where do your ideas come from?

My main inspiration comes from my love of reading. I love losing myself in a book and using that as a reality escape allows me to lose myself in writing in a similar way. There are authors that inspire me which normally get the creative cogs rolling and my stories stem from there. I often have trouble coming up with an initial idea but once the seed has been planted I can churn out hundreds of linking ideas.

4: Do you have a plan in your head of where the story is going before you start writing or do you let it carry you along as you go?

I have a basic structure but I have ideas of scenes in my head and fill those out as opposed to having fixed chapters defined. Some of the best ideas stem from me creatively moving on from a scene and I find that works better for me.

5: What genre are your books and what drew you to that genre?

My first novel, Monarchy, is a young adult dystopia and is part of a trilogy that I plan to release next year and in 2019. I have always read young adult fiction as I found myself unable to move on from that genre. My favorite authors like John Marsden and JK Rowling are still firm additions to my bookshelves. Reading so much YA meant that my novels naturally fell into that genre.

6: What dream cast would you like to see playing the characters in your latest book?

What an amazing question! I can imagine Constance being played by a soft, willowy actress but with a firm mind. Someone like Emma Watson or Amanda Seyfried. For Calloway, someone quite self-assured who would be able to throw some power into the role. If we are talking ideal world then it would have to Ryan Gosling!

7: Do you read much and if so who are your favorite authors?

Since becoming a mum, I have had less and less time to read but I am one of those people who would rather settle down and read than watch television. I still have a soft spot in my heart for YA authors, my favorites being John Marsden and JK Rowling as mentioned above. An author that has definitely inspired me is Lesley Lokko, a Ghanaian/Scottish writer whose work I have followed since I read her first book almost 10 years ago. I love her ability to weave so many different plot lines together whilst throwing in political and world views. Her intricacy and depth makes for some beautiful stories and I find I could read each of her books over and over again.

8: What book/s are you reading at present?

I am currently reading The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larrson. It is one of those books that has been on my TBR list for a while and I was recently bought 3 of his books as a gift. His writing is very detailed and I like the imagery he is creating. He really manages to suck his readers into the story.

9: What is your favourite book and why?

What a difficult question. I would have to say The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Attwood. I was assigned this book for the reading section of my English Literature A Level and read it so many times during that time but always managed to find something different after each read. It is what introduced me to the idea of dystopia and how worlds can be controlled in so many ways and also taught me about the theme of rebellion. It is definitely something that has featured as a huge inspiration for Monarchy, my first novel.

10: What advice would you give for someone thinking about becoming a writer?

Stay positive no matter what. This is such a tough industry to break into and you will be knocked down time and time again. The main thing is to have belief in what you are doing and to keep going as there will be so many points when everything seems worthless. Have passion in what you write and use that passion to drive you onward with your ideas.

11: What are the best Social Media Sites for people to find out about you and your work?  

Monarchy is now available to buy on worldwide amazon sites.

I am in the process of setting up my social media so keep an eye out for me soon!

Blog: www.laurajayne15.wixsite.com/laurapritchardbooks

 

 

About the Author:

Laura Pritchard was born and raised in a small town in the South Wales Valleys in the United Kingdom. She is a teacher by day and an author by night! She currently teaches music to children who have been expelled from mainstream school.

“I have written for as long as I can remember! I have distinct memories of filling notebooks with stories from a very young age. The passion for writing came from a love of reading!”

“I came up with the initial story for my novel, Monarchy, about 2 years ago and have put all of my time and effort into perfecting it since then. Being a mum to 2 young children and a secondary school Music teacher alongside means I have become a professional life juggler and I try to fit as much writing time as I can! I am currently penning the follow up to my first novel, Anarchy, to be released in 2018.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

