Author Interview: ‘Dreamless Nights’ by Connor Hayes

Edward was never able to find peace in his dreams, and soon he’ll be embroiled in a conflict between an organisation he didn’t know existed, and the legion of Night Horrors hell bent on attacking Earth and its unsuspecting inhabitants.

Although perhaps things aren’t as they seem? Unbeknownst to Edward, he may already have a connection with this war, perhaps in more ways than one.

Follow Edward as he uncovers the mysteries and secrets flowing around him.

This story contains language some readers might find offensive, and violent depictions.

Add to Goodreads

Amazon – UK / US

1: Tell us a little about yourself and what got you in to writing?

I got into reading from a young age and since then I’ve always had my head in the clouds, daydreaming about worlds of my own creation. As I grew up, the worlds formed into stories and I jotted them down for fun. Fast forward a few years and I started writing an unplanned story as a passion project and before I knew it, I had a finished book on my hands.

2: Do you have a favourite time and place where you write?

My preference has to be somewhere where only a single pane of glass separates me from natural scenery. Trumping location, my biggest necessity is to have music playing.

3: Where do your ideas come from?

Most of my ideas bloom from reading. Sometimes I find a few words can inspire many. Other than that, if I need to come up with something specific to fill a gap or tie a knot, I can usually come up with a few ideas by just thinking about it for a minute.

4: Do you have a plan in your head of where the story is going before you start writing or do you let it carry you along as you go?

I quite like a mix of both. To start with, I jump in with just a cool concept. As I write, the rest of the story starts to stitch together and I then create an overview of my future plans to make sure the ending will all make sense and so I can have a firmer grasp of how the world works, allowing me to keep the characters acting in line with their motivations and capabilities from the begging of the story.

5: What genre are your books and what drew you to that genre?

Fantasy/Sci-fi with a hint of mystery. I’m a big fan of magical powers and systems that have explanations, that and world building drew me into this genre.

6: What dream cast would you like to see playing the characters in your latest book?

I’ve honestly not put any thought into this, I would just be happy if a book of mine could make it even close to that far. But I quite like leaving my main characters descriptions ambiguous enough that they could be played by almost anyone. If I need to give an actor’s name, I’d have to go with my favourite actor Samuel L. Jackson.

7: Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors?

Probably too much… I’ve drifted away from mainstream books and have fallen in love with some online gems. My current favourites being Overgeared by Park Saenal and Shadow Slave by Guiltythree.

8: What book/s are you reading at present?

Answered in number 7.

9: What is your favourite book and why?

I’d probably have to give this to Shadow Slave. The intricate storylines, the mysterious secrets being slowly unveiled with more taking their place, the deep, 3-dimensional characters. That and the way I am constantly thrown into a despairing feeling where I have no clue how the main character can make it through.

10: What advice would you give for someone thinking about becoming a writer?

I think I’m still a little wet behind the ears to comment on how to be a good writer, but I think reading a lot to secure a strong foundation is the most important thing. I also find thinking about how the worlds you create whir behind the curtains of the book helps to flesh out the characters and story.

11: What are the best Social Media Sites for people to find out about you and your work?

I’m still in the early stages of social media as an author, but I should post information about any new books that get published on X, @HayesWrites.

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Reading Nook Blog Posts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.